Pay for Performance
    P4P Overview
    California Value Based P4P
       Program Governance
       Manuals & Operations
       Financial Transparency
       Awards & Public Reports
       Program Assessment
       Program Updates

  Bundled Payment



  Grants & Projects


  Publications & Resources


Quality Performers

“Quality Performer” award winners are identified as any physician organization whose overall composite score meets a comprehensive threshold based on the top 25% score for each measure included in P4P—and who doesn’t have any individual measure scores in the bottom 25%. The overall composite score for quality is determined by calculating composite scores in each of the three P4P quality measurement domains, which are then weighted according to the recommended P4P payment weightings: clinical quality 50%, patient experience 20%, and meaningful use of health information technology 30%.

IHA also gives honorable mention recognition for each P4P quality measurement domain, to the physician groups whose performance meets the top 25 percent threshold for that domain.

Most Improved Groups

In addition to top performance awards, IHA presents a second set of awards to the physician group in each of the eight California P4P regions that demonstrates the greatest overall improvement over the previous year.  Physician groups in this category are recognized with the "Ronald P. Bangasser, MD, Memorial Award for Quality Improvement," named in honor of the late Dr. Bangasser, a leader in California's medical community and an IHA Board Member.

Winners are determined by calculating the relative improvement for each physician group on the overall performance composite score for this year compared to the overall performance composite score for last year. In order to be eligible, a group must have improved performance in both clinical and patient experience. The physician group in each of the eight P4P regions that has the highest improvement score for overall performance is recognized as the most improved group in that region.

2014 Award Winners for Measurement Year (MY) 2013

MY 2013 Quality Performance Awards

MY 2013 Ronald P. Bangasser, M.D., Memorial Award for Quality Improvement

MY 2013 Honorable Mentions