Home       Our Members      Committees

IHA relies on our committees to help shape our programs and drive our success as an organization. These groups give our members a voice on vital issues that impact our work and the future of healthcare. Made up of leaders from across the healthcare industry, they meet throughout the year to have discussions, tackle problems, and make decisions about our AMP programs, Symphony Provider Directory, and other IHA initiatives.

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee oversees the strategy and direction for all of IHA’s programs. This multi-stakeholder group also helps us monitor the integrity of our programs—making sure they are financially viable and benefit the industry as a whole.

Chair: Ray Chicoine: Monarch Healthcare

Cathy Hughes: Aetna
Joel Gray: Anthem
Aliza Arjoyan: Blue Shield of California
Kenneth Phenow, MD: Cigna
Erik Korolev: Health Net
Jacqueline Simpson: UnitedHealthcare
Khuram Arif, MD: Western Health Advantage
Cary Shames, DO: Sharp Health Plan
Anil Keswani, MD: Scripps Health (TPC Chair)
Andrea Snyder: Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
Mark Schafer, MD: MemorialCare Medical Foundation
Larry deGhetaldi, MD: Palo Alto Medical Foundation, Sutter Health
Suketu Sanghvi, MD: The Permanente Medical Group
Alice Chen, MD: Covered California
Jeff Rideout, MD: IHA
Cheryl Damberg, PhD: RAND
Jeff Burnich, MD: Canopy Health
Christine Castano, MD: Optum (TMC Chair)
Paul Keller: LA Care (DGC Co-Chair)

Technical Measurement Committee

The Technical Measurement Committee (TMC) advises the Governance Committee on technical issues related to performance measurement in our AMP program. The group brings together technical experts from across the industry and the state of California who help guide measure set development.

Chair: Christine Castano, MD: Optum

Pegah Mehdizadeh, DO: Aetna
Leticia Schumann: Anthem
Tory Robinson: Blue Shield of California
Kenneth Phenow, MD: Cigna
Eric Garthwaite: Health Net
Ranyan Lu, PhD: UnitedHealthcare
Sara Frampton: Kaiser Permanente Health Plan
Chris Jioras: Humboldt-Del Norte IPA
Marnie Baker, MD: MemorialCare Medical Group
Sherilyn Wheaton, MD: Primary Medical
Edward Yu, MD: Palo Alto Medical Foundation, Sutter Health
Ralph Vogel, PhD: Southern California Permanente Medical Group
Rachel Brodie: Purchaser Business Group on Health
Alice Gunderson: PFCCpartners’ Patient Advisor Network
Ting Pun: PFCCpartners’ Patient Advisor Network
Cheryl Damberg, PhD: RAND
Alyson Spencer: Blue Shield Promise Health Plan

Technical Payment Committee

The Technical Payment Committee (TPC) advises the Governance Committee on technical issues related to incentive payment design for IHA’s AMP program. It brings together technical experts from across the industry and the state of California to help develop our value-based incentive design.

Chair: Anil Keswani, MD: Scripps Health

Ritu Grover: Aetna
Zhongchen Ma: Anthem
Carla Allison: Cigna
Jim Orchison: Health Net
Matthew Low: UnitedHealthcare
Andres Aguirre: Sharp Health Plan
Caroline Goldzweig, MD: Cedars-Sinai Medical Care Foundation
Khanh Nguyen, PharmD: Hill Physicians Medical Group
Jamie Phillips: NAMM California
Linda Deaktor: MedPOINT Management
Marcy Norenius: Meritage Medical Network
David Seidenwurm, MD: Sutter Medical Group
Andrew See: Kaiser Permanente Health Plan
Patricia Mowlavi: Blue Shield Promise Health Plan

Data Governance Committee

The Data Governance Committee advises the Governance Committee on data policies, data quality, and application of regulatory compliance. The initial focus of the DGC will primarily be on the Symphony Provider Directory. The DGC brings together experts from Symphony health plans and provider organizations representing industry stakeholders across California.

Chair: Paul Kellar: LA Care


Chekesha Jackson: Aetna
Francine Hopcus: Anthem
Lisa Chadwell: Blue Shield of California
Kristina Rodriguez: Health Net
Yolanda Hunt-Boes: Sharp Health Plan
Keith Koszuta: UnitedHealthcare
Quincy Roberts: MedPOINT Management
Heidi Thompson: Optum
Sara Pouliot: Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
Lori Bloomfield: Sutter Medical Group
Serra Fox: Covered California
Michael Myers: Health Industry Collaboration Effort, Inc. (HICE)